Skip to content

Powell River Academy of Music announces scholarship recipients

2023 competition held in May featured 17 musicians
2614_powell_river music_academy
Powell River Academy of Music.

Seventeen young musicians performed for scholarships at the annual Powell River Academy of Music Scholarship Competition on May 27.

The academy holds the annual competition for students 18 and under. Scholarship money, which assists students in their future studies, is donated by patrons and teachers.

Piano performers included Lukas Arajs, Xijia Liu, Juan de Flamingh, Lime Kim, Illeana MacLaine, Owen Ashworth, Liam Harding, Hila de Villiers, Xiya Liu, Leeya de Villiers, Havana HallGauthier, Madyx Whiteway, Eric Ruegg and Jaid Kirzakow.

The recipient of the Daryl and Doreen Smith Scholarship awarded in Junior Piano (12 years and under) was Lime Kim. Runner-up was Juan de Flamingh, with honourable mention going to Xijia Liu.

The recipient for the Lillian Dickson Memorial Scholarship awarded in Senior Piano (13 to 18 years) was Jaid Kirzakow. Eric Ruegg was named runner-up and Leeya de Villiers received honourable mention.

The recipient for the Mr. and Mrs. Derry Simpson Scholarship awarded in Junior Instrumental (12 years and under) was Aiden Arajs. Runners-up were Kyla de Villiers and Silas van Wiltenburg.