Skip to content

Councillors and mayor consider four more years

Three incumbents declare intentions to seek re-election in 2018
council election
PLANNING AHEAD: City of Powell River councillor Russell Brewer announced that he will seek a third term on council when the next civic election takes place in October. Two other councillors also indicated they plan to run for an additional four-year term. Peak archive photo

Only a few days into the new year and with the municipal general election still nine months away, City of Powell River council’s incumbents are beginning to indicate their intentions to run for re-election.

Councillor Russell Brewer has confirmed that he will be seeking his third term on council. Rob Southcott and Maggie Hathaway have also confirmed they will also be seeking another four-year term.

Mayor Dave Formosa said he “most probably” will run.

Formosa was first elected to council in 2008 and defeated Stewart Alsgard in a close election in 2011. Formosa will be seeking his third term as mayor in October.

“I'm not 100 per cent there yet, but I think I'm going to run,” said Formosa. “Looking at what's going forward, what we're doing, what we're up to and talking to the team, it looks like I will be running.”

Formosa won by acclamation in 2014, but is likely to face at least one opponent this election cycle. Powell River resident Ron Woznow has indicated he also intends to run.

“I will formally announce at the end of the month that I will be running for mayor,” said Woznow, who served as chief of staff for Tom McMillan, an environment minister in former prime minister Brian Mulroney’s Conservative government and chief executive officer of BC Hazardous Waste Corporation.

Councillor CaroleAnn Leishman said she will “probably” seek re-election.

“I’d like to see some of the projects we’ve started be implemented,” said Leishman.

Councillor Jim Palm, who is currently serving his third term, said he has not yet committed.

“As I usually do,” said Palm, “I just like to be quiet until the time comes.”

Councillor Karen Skadsheim said she will not be running again after serving only one term.

In the 2014 general election, Brewer received the highest number of votes with approximately 2,500, followed by Southcott and Leishman.

Elections for mayor, city councillors, Powell River Regional District directors and School District 47 trustees take place on October 20, 2018.