Skip to content

Powell River Skating Club celebrates end of season

Skaters recognized with awards for hard work during past year

Powell River Skating Club (PRSC) ended a successful season with an end of year exhibition in March, and an awards ceremony, held on April 11, along with the club’s annual general meeting. 

RSC president Barb Klippenstein said this was the first awards ceremony in a number of years.

"The skaters and coaches have been hard at work this year and we’ve had a small group of volunteers who have really stepped up and made it possible to expand our programs," said Klippenstein.

Shay Sarton took on the role as coach last year and has not only expanded the qathet-based club's numbers, but also served as a catalyst for encouraging skaters to compete.

Award recipients were: Samantha Ratzlaff, Canskate assistant award; Mallory Brooks, most improved intermediate skater; Arwyn Fretts, artistic; Brooklyn Bourcier, grit; Arianna Solowan and Samantha Ratzlaff, sportsmanship.

Keisuke Takahashi and Bryce Dixon were presented with Canskate most valuable player awards; and Scarlett Townley, Rivers Martin, Dax Ellis, Benson Smisko and Caden Ladner received Canskate rising star awards.

Join the Peak’s email list for the top headlines right in your inbox Monday to Friday.