Skip to content

UPDATED: Woznow tops Powell River mayor race

Official voting results are in for council positions
WATCHING RESULTS: City of Powell River council chambers were filled with candidates for the municipal and school board elections, plus interested spectators, as the results were displayed on the big screens in the facility.

With advance voting, Powell River Recreation Complex and Brooks Secondary School, Cranberry Seniors Centre and James Thomson Elementary School ballots counted, Ron Woznow won the City of Powell River mayoral race with 2,982 votes.

CaroleAnn Leishman was second with 1,283.

Maggie Hathaway received 945 votes.


In the race for the six city councillor seats:

Incumbent Rob Southcott received 2,459 votes.

Incumbent Jim Palm had 2,316 votes.

Incumbent Cindy Elliott had 2,035.

Trina Isakson received 2,052 votes.

Incumbent George Doubt had 1,792 votes.

Earl Almeida had 1,785 votes.

Jen Zacher garnered 1,745 votes.

Todd Phillips received 1,459 votes.

Cathy Korolek had 1,443.

Eli Leyland had 1,416.

Roger Whittaker had 1,355 votes.

Robin Murray had 1,219 votes.

Michelle Riddle had 1,246 votes.

Other councillor candidate results:

Bronwyn Gisborne: 975

Luke Holuboch: 825

Jason Hygaard: 781

Glenn Holstine: 383

Evan Stocker: 247


In the assent vote for a new fire hall/emergency services building, 2,450 were cast in favour of the new facility; 2,417 people voted against it.


A total of 5,252 votes were cast. 11,177 electors are on the provincial voting list. Voter turnout was 46.99 percent.

Results are based on the ballot accounts prepared at each voting place and were subject to determination of official election results by chief election officer Chris Jackson.

Read all Peak election coverage at