Skip to content

Powell River Kings' division unaffected by new BCHL alignment

West division of BC Hockey League's Coastal Conference remains the same after addition of five teams
Powell River Kings' goaltender Justin Katz clears a rebound during a BC Hockey League game versus Cowichan Valley Capitals this past March, the last home game of the 2023/2024 season.

With five former Alberta Junior Hockey League teams joining the BC Hockey League (BCHL) full time for the 2024/2025 season, conference and divisional alignment will be as follows:

COASTAL CONFERENCE (WEST): Powell River Kings, Alberni Valley Bulldogs, Cowichan Valley Capitals, Nanaimo Clippers and Victoria Grizzlies.

COASTAL CONFERENCE (EAST): Chilliwack Chiefs, Coquitlam Express, Langley Rivermen, Prince George Spruce Kings and Surrey Eagles.

INTERIOR CONFERENCE (WEST): Penticton Vees, Salmon Arm Silverbacks, Trail Smoke Eaters, Vernon Vipers and West Kelowna Warriors.

INTERIOR CONFERENCE (EAST): Blackfalds Bulldogs, Brooks Bandits, Cranbrook Bucks, Okotoks Oilers, Sherwood Park Crusaders and Spruce Grove Saints.

Existing playoff structures will continue with the first seed in each conference playing the eighth seed in the first round, second playing seventh, third facing sixth and fourth squaring off against the fifth place team. Five clubs will not make the playoffs, two from the Coastal Conference and three from the Interior.

The regular season will continue to consist of 54 games.

Join the Peak's email list for the top headlines right in your inbox Monday to Friday.