Skip to content

Duplicate bridge club celebrates achievements

Team Glaspey and Stokes winners of three events

More than 40 bridge players attended Powell River Duplicate Bridge Club’s annual dinner and awards evening held recently.

The biggest game of the year was a 73.81 per cent game posted by Dave Harper and Gail Fennell.

Kari Kuntsi earned the most masterpoints throughout the year by amassing 51.

The Santokh Sian Senior Pairs trophy was donated by Santokh Sian in 2010. This year the winners were Scott Glaspey and Terry Stokes.

Mixed pairs champions for 2011 were Stokes and Jean Brach.

The Joneson Cup District Charity game winners were Glaspey and Stokes.

Ladies’ unmixed pairs champions were Brach and Marion Stoodley.

Men’s unmixed pairs champions were Dennis Bremner and Harper.

Whitney Memorial Trophy winners were Tony and Viv Thickett.

The two-session open pairs event was won by Glaspey and Stokes.

The winning team of four was Fennell, Harper, Dick Sangster and Pete Black.

Attendance award was a tie between Rose Andrews and Richard Furness.

Rookie of the Year trophy went to Joyce Furness.

Ladies’ Marathon was won by Margaret Havens with a 58.12 per cent average.

Men’s Marathon was won by Stokes with a 60.72 per cent average.

Powell River sectional tournament will be held on January 20 through 22, 2012. There will be a Friday afternoon single session, plus a Friday afternoon novice game, which is a free game for all players with fewer than 20 masterpoints. The Thicketts will be partnership chairpersons for this tournament. Interested readers can call 604.485.4430 for more information.